The Bootsauce Archive

Mayhem! Mini-Feature

Originally published in Mayhem! Magazine, October 1991

█ CANADIAN FUNK rock quintet Bootsauce release their debut album, 'The Brown Album', through Polydor later this year.

Produced by the Fudge Brothers and Corky Laing, it features the following tracks:

Side One: 'Let's Eat Out,', 'Scratching the Hole', 'Sex Marine', 'Catastrophe Seas', 'Everyone's A Winner' (a killer cover of the Hot Chocolate classic just released as a single!).

Side Two: 'Play With Me', 'Lovin' Pain', 'Payment Time', 'Catcher In The Raw', 'Masterstroke'

Commenting on the band's unique brew of Metal, rap and '70's groove, guitarist Pere Fume told Mayhem: "Drew (Ling - vocalist) and I lived in London for a couple of years a while ago, and that's when we really started getting into rap and hip-hop, as well as our longtime love of rock music. When we went back to Canada and the band came together (the line-up is completed by guitarist Sonny Greenwich Jnr, bassist Baculis and drummer Rob Kazenei), all these things kinda came together.

"And that Hot Chocolate riff... man, I'm amazed no-one's played that before. It's Metal, I'm telling you!"

Bootsauce will make their UK live debut later this year.


Copyright 2019 Piscean Entertainment in text, illustration, and site design. All lyrics and photographs copyright Bootsauce and Vertigo/Polygram unless otherwise indicated. Images and lyrics are reproduced here for non-profit informational purposes and are considered fair use. All rights reserved.